top of page
  • Writer's pictureNightScribe

Captivating!

Not even halfway through the first chapter I fell in love with Cedric as a character and before the second I was amazed at the author’s ability to seamlessly switch between POV’s using old diary entries as a very effective device to fully develop Cedric’s backstory.


Not since C.S Lewis and a place called Narnia has a story captured my imagination and suspended my disbelief. As I read I began to really believe that Cedric lived and kept journals. Even though we skipped entries for the flow of the tale, I truly believed that this particular journal “smaller than the others. More weathered and tatty,” really existed in our reality. By the end of the book I was glad that I had read it first. I wasn’t done with Cedric, or his adventures as a monk teaching a craftmen’s son, and I can’t wait to dive into book 1.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page