top of page
  • Writer's pictureNightScribe

The New World by Mark Lawrence

Mark Lawrence (that Thorn Guy) and Shawn Speakman (Grim Oak Press) are teaming up again to release The Red Queens War Limited Edition. A cloth bound hardcover with no slipcase, it will be limited to 1000 numbered copies and be signed by Mark Lawrence, Jason Chan (the interior artist) and Nate Taylor (the graphic artist). It will also contain a sewn red ribbon and a new short story by Mark Lawrence written expressly for the omnibus.


I was fortunate to see a post on the book of faces from Mr. Lawrence himself, offering fantasy bloggers a chance to read a short story included in a limited release of the Red Queens War. I didn't hesitate to contact him, and once I was able to show him a fantasy blog that was up and running, he didn’t hesitate to share it with me. That new story is called The New World and brings back fan favorites Jalan and Snorri.


“The good thing about being a cardinal was that I got the biggest cabin on the ship. The bad thing was that I was in a cabin. On a ship.”


I have confession to make. Although, I consider myself a really big fan, I didn’t discover his books until roughly two years ago. Late to the game I have read 2/3 of The Broken Empire Trilogy and haven't begun The Red Queen War. I thought it was a good idea to try and read Prince of Fool’s and its two sequels The Liar’s Key and The Wheel of Osheim before The New World. But only a few chapters in I couldn’t bring myself to wait. I instantly fell in love with the characters and wanted to dive right into the new story.


Right away Lawrence had me laughing at the dialogue between Jalan and his friend Omar. Despite being a coward Jalan is quite the ladies man. This apparently gets him into trouble and sets the course of this tale at sea. Even though I was technically in uncharted waters, I found myself right at home reading about Jalan, Snorri and a whole slew of new and interesting characters (at least to me). Mark is definitely showing off with this new adventure. I feel like he was out to prove to himself, and everyone else, that he still has more to write about in the world he introduced with Jorg and the Broken Empire. In fact, there is a little author note suggesting he may one day finish the story, though not anytime soon. Don’t worry it definitely has a beginning middle and end and I thoroughly enjoyed it.


You can order The Red Queen’s War Limited Edition and read The New World short story included for yourself at https://grimoakpress.com/collections/limited-editions/products/the-red-queens-war-limited-edition*



*At this time there are no plans to release this story outside of the release of this omnibus.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page